Posts Tagged ‘Senate’

Sanity Roll Call

September 28, 2013

Probably the most interesting vote this week was in the Senate where the GOP split along faction lines on whether to follow the House Republicans in blackmailing the people of the US to reverse the 40+ votes they’ve lost regarding Obamacare.

What made it interesting is that we finally have an on-the-record list of which Republicans are owned by the Looney Tunes fringe wing of their party and which still have at least a little respect left for the United States.

All 54 Democrats (including the two Independents who caucus with the Democrats) effectively voted to send the House’s blackmail note back to them as insane. It’s worth remembering that the next time somebody says "They’re all the same in Washington" or "Congress did…" when they really mean "The Republicans in Congress did…".

On the GOP side of the Senate it gets more interesting.

  • 25 Republican Senators (54%) voted with the Democrats against anti-democratic blackmail
  • 19 Republican Senators (41%) voted with the insane wing
  • 2 Republican Senators (4%) refused to go on the record

Congratulations to Kansas and Alabama for having 100% of their Senators in the Insane wing – What’s the Matter with Kansas, indeed.

A special award to Utah for having 1 under the Insane list and 1 under Cowardly. Who says there’s no diversity in Utah.

It is interesting to note that 79% of Senators are sane so we’re really having the global economy held hostage by a minority of a minority.

Here’s the list so you can see if your Senators are either insane or completely corrupt.


  • Alexander (R-TN)
  • Ayotte (R-NH)
  • Barrasso (R-WY)
  • Blunt (R-MO)
  • Boozman (R-AR)
  • Burr (R-NC)
  • Chambliss (R-GA)
  • Chiesa (R-NJ)
  • Coats (R-IN)
  • Coburn (R-OK)
  • Cochran (R-MS)
  • Collins (R-ME)
  • Corker (R-TN)
  • Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Graham (R-SC)
  • Hoeven (R-ND)
  • Isakson (R-GA)
  • Johanns (R-NE)
  • Johnson (R-WI)
  • Kirk (R-IL)
  • McCain (R-AZ)
  • McConnell (R-KY)
  • Murkowski (R-AK)
  • Thune (R-SD)
  • Wicker (R-MS)


  • Crapo (R-ID)
  • Cruz (R-TX)
  • Enzi (R-WY)
  • Fischer (R-NE)
  • Grassley (R-IA)
  • Heller (R-NV)
  • Inhofe (R-OK)
  • Lee (R-UT)
  • Moran (R-KS)
  • Paul (R-KY)
  • Portman (R-OH)
  • Risch (R-ID)
  • Roberts (R-KS)
  • Rubio (R-FL)
  • Scott (R-SC)
  • Sessions (R-AL)
  • Shelby (R-AL)
  • Toomey (R-PA)
  • Vitter (R-LA)


  • Flake (R-AZ)
  • Hatch (R-UT)

Today’s Filibuster of Background Checks

April 17, 2013

Today 5 Democratic Senators and 41 Republican Senators betrayed their constituents. Today these corrupt officials violated their oath of office and ignored the wishes of over 90% of the American public they’re sworn to represent.

Also today 4 Republican Senators singled themselves out for doing their jobs correctly. As much as that is ludicrous to call out, let’s start by giving them credit so they are not tarred by association with their party.

  • John McCain of Arizona
  • Susan Collins of Maine
  • Mark Kirk of Illinois
  • Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania

They, sadly, deserve the credit for doing their jobs.

But, the real story is that 46 Senators did not do their job and should not be returned to office.

Reality is that the public has a short memory and Senators have a 6-year term so roughly 1/3rd of them will be up for reelection next year, 1/3rd in 2016 and 1/3 get to stay in our employ for 5 more years.

Fifteen of those betrayers of the public trust are up for reelection next year and today begins the job of making this their last term in office. Saxby Chambliss (R-GA) has already announced he will not be running for reelection.

I suggest we contact not just the remaining 14 Senators and let them know we will make preventing their reelection our single-minded priority but that we also contact their major donors and let them know that a dollar in these coward’s campaign chests means a customer they’ve lost and a negative publicity campaign their PR firm will find themselves fighting for as long as their support for these embarrassments to our nation continues.

Those 15 “Senators” who are up for re-election in 2014 are:

  • Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
  • Max Baucus (D-MT)
  • Mark Begich (D-AK)
  • Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
  • Thad Cochran (R-MS)
  • John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Mike Enzi (R-WY)
  • Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
  • Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
  • Mike Johanns (R-NE)
  • Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  • Mark Pryor (D-AR)
  • Jim Risch (R-ID)
  • Pat Roberts (R-KS)
  • Jess Sessions (R-AL)

Oh, and the other 29 Republican Senators and 2 Democratic Senators who betrayed the Constitution they swore to uphold? We’ll remember them in 2016 and 2018 if they haven’t resigned for other reasons before then.

%d bloggers like this: